About Dragonlance

Dragonlance is a richly-detailed fantasy world of warriors, magic and dragons, designed by TSR Inc and now owned by Wizards of the Coast Inc, a division of Hasbro Inc. The world was originally created as a supplement for the Advanced Dungeons & Dragons® role-playing game, but soon blossomed into a fully-blown campaign setting in it's own right.

The origins of Dragonlance stem from a desire of TSR in the early 1980s to release a series of AD&D adventures focussed specifically on dragons, which up until that point had not really been done before (even though the game was called "Dungeons & Dragons"). All of the company's game designers were asked to pitch concepts for this product line, but it was a 12 part epic storyline, originally created by Tracy Hickman, that was ultimately chosen to form the basis for the new campaign world.

A Dragonlance development team was soon put together, which included TSR regulars like Douglas Niles, Jeff Grubb, and then new-comer Margaret Weis. Although the original intention of Dragonlance lent more towards gaming, it was only a matter of time before the epic storyline crossed the boundaries into other media. TSR published the first Dragonlance novel, Margaret Weis and Tracy Hickman's Dragons of Autumn Twilight in 1984. The Dragonlance Chronicles series sprang mainly from the storyline which had been developed for the series of gaming modules, however many of the characters' finer details emerged from the many roleplaying sessions undertaking by the Dragonlance development team.

Dragons of Autumn Twilight soon made the New York Times best seller list and TSR's book division was born. Since then, Weis and Hickman have returned to the world of Dragonlance many times, as have many other authors. Dragonlance has become a phenomenon in itself and there are now hundreds of novels, game materials, comics, and other stuff related to the world of Krynn. Dragonlance has also grown beyond the game of AD&D, spawning its own new, more story-orientated role-playing system known as Saga.

If you are new to Dragonlance, the following is a list of key novels you should read (in the order listed). The Chronicles and Legends series are of main relevance to issues discussed on this site.

Dragonlance Chronicles
By Margaret Weis & Tracy Hickman
Dragonlance Legends
By Margaret Weis & Tracy Hickman
Second Generation
By Margaret Weis & Tracy Hickman
Dragonlance: War of the Souls
By Margaret Weis & Tracy Hickman
Other Good Books
The Legend of Huma
By Richard A. Knaak

A full Dragonlance Bibliography (part 1, part 2) and Novel Guide (story timeline) are available at the Wizards of the Coast site.

Dragonlance novels, games and other materials should be available through your local book or hobby store. You can now order Dragonlance books here at the DLMS! If you have trouble locating an item, try second hand dealers or Amazon.com.